•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

400mm f2.8 lens for Nikon

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 andysea

andysea

Soyuz

• topic starter
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Posted 23 December 2018 - 10:08 AM

I couldn’t find any threads about this topic other than a couple discussing canon lenses.
What are the current recommendations for a 400mm f2.8 lens that can be used on FX Nikon cameras and has good correction for Astro?

#2 whwang

whwang

Mercury-Atlas

Posted 23 December 2018 - 11:24 AM

I think you are pretty much limited to Nikon 400/2.8, since you can't adapt Canon or other lenses to a Nikon DSLR.

#3 andysea

andysea

Soyuz

• topic starter

Posted 23 December 2018 - 11:57 AM

I think you are pretty much limited to Nikon 400/2.8, since you can't adapt Canon or other lenses to a Nikon DSLR.

I'm new to the Nikon ecosystem and it looks like there have been a few variants of the 400 f2.8, including the older manual focus one. Do you know if the older models are usable for astrophotography? I'm thinking that I may be better off with an Epsilon 130.

• The Luckster likes this

#4 The Luckster

The Luckster

Viking 1

• Loc: Los Angeles, CA

Posted 23 December 2018 - 12:08 PM

I'm new to the Nikon ecosystem and it looks like there have been a few variants of the 400 f2.8, including the older manual focus one. Do you know if the older models are usable for astrophotography? I'm thinking that I may be better off with an Epsilon 130.

I feel MF lenses are best for control, but newer optics can be better...YMMV.

Stick with Nikon AI MF lenses, non-AI lenses require a physical mod to work properly.

I cannot answer your query about astrophotography use...sorry.

CS

jason

#5 whwang

whwang

Mercury-Atlas

Posted 23 December 2018 - 08:50 PM