•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

I need your help. Old Celestron 8

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 step4tac

step4tac

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 07 January 2019 - 04:20 PM

Hi there,

Let me start by saying, I don't know anything about this field and after reading the forums for a while, I have to say, I feel like a complete noob.

A friend of mine gave me his old telecope.

He moved overseas and couldnt take it with him; now I am looking to sell the unit.

My friend mentioned that the telescope comes with a controller and some motors. I found that it has two motors in the base (and for some strange reason there are two motors in the very oldschool cary-suit-case) - but there is nothing else. No controller, no cables, etc..  

Some people that I have spoken to says that the telescope is worthless without these items.

Do you think this is true ?

Any idea where I could source these accesories ? - (not even sure what it is called, thus in this case Google has not been my friend)

Also; any suggestions on where and how much I could sell the telescope for ? - I am scared that someone will rip me off because I don't understand the value of these items.

Your help would be greatly appreciated! 

Thanks

Steve

photo_2019-01-07_23-17-37.jpg

photo_2019-01-07_23-17-32.jpg

• Live_Steam_Mad likes this

#2 Mike G.

Mike G.

Apollo

• Loc: Oberlin, Ohio

Posted 07 January 2019 - 04:50 PM

if the mirrors and corrector are in good condition, you could always de-fork the scope and add a dovetail and use it that way.  it's an AC drive so I don't know what that would be worth as a separate item to sell off, but C8's are pretty nice scopes, even the older ones.  in fact, many feel the orange tuber versions are better than current.

#3 ToxMan

ToxMan

Skylab

• Loc: Tucson, Arizona, USA