•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

EQ6-R Pro and APT Plate Solving - Newbie Configuration Question

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Eddie_42

Eddie_42

Mariner 2

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Colorado Springs

Posted 12 January 2019 - 01:47 AM

Hey all,

I have APT configured to use plate solving via the PlateSolver2 and the All Sky Plate Solve (ASPS) interfaces. I have uploaded a few of my M42 subs and they solve appropriately. What I'd like to ask, because I am a newbie, is what the proper sequence is for aligning my mount/scope for the nights images. My first night out ran into a hiccup of not having plateSovler2 installed, and thus required the hand controller. Luckily I brought it with me to the site. Since that night, I got the software, tested as mentioned, but have yet to find a night worthy of the setup. But that will come, eventually.

I am guessing a sequence akin to:

1 - polar align my mount, currently just using the built in polar scope and a smart phone app. I don't have a pole-master or other such device (its on my wishlist).

2 - set the scope to a "home" positions, roughly in the Polaris direction.

3 - Slew to an object using the GOTO feature within APT

4 - take a shot

5 - plate solve

6 - sync

7 - ______

or 4.1 use the AUTO feature in APT, it does it all 4 through 7

Does this align the scope, or just provide a correction to the local object. I don't image chasing more than one object a night (still sorting out battery life issues). But if I chase a second, thats just a plate solve and correction away.  I'd love any and all advice towards a successful night out using the laptop and APT as the primary driver, no hand controller.