•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Strange Marks on Image

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 hungerford

hungerford

Viking 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 January 2019 - 09:04 AM

Hi,

I have been using my Moravian G2-8300 mono for a couple of years now and never experience this issue before.

There is some dark line and some lighter lines all over the image. 

I took this image last nigh in HA with a lot of moon light. The exposures were 10 minutes for 12 frames.

I cannot think what could create this problem.

Thanks for looking

Vince

Attached Thumbnails

• ic434 small.jpg

#2 james7ca

james7ca

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 19 January 2019 - 09:27 AM

Almost looks like drips of water. Maybe some condensations on the camera chamber window.

#3 Der_Pit

Der_Pit

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: La Palma

Posted 19 January 2019 - 09:56 AM

I agree, looks like something that follows the changing direction of gravity (while tracking).  That some of the streaks have bright rims supports the idea of water droplets...

#4 buckeyestargazer

buckeyestargazer

Vendor - Buckeyestargazer.net

• Vendors
  • Loc: IN, USA

Posted 19 January 2019 - 11:36 AM

Yeah, my guess too is some sort of condensation, although I've never seen anything quite like that.  When is the last time you recharged your desiccant?

#5 hungerford

hungerford

Viking 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 January 2019 - 01:36 PM

Thank you for your help. I have changed the desiccant 6 months ago but the camera stays fitted to the scope in the observatory and it has been very damp lately.

I will change the desiccant and see if that solve the problem. In the past when the desiccant needed changing the stars became blotted so this is why I didn't make the connection.

Vince 

#6 ciraxis

ciraxis

Vostok 1

• -----