•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Best equipment for beginner

astrophotography accessories beginner equipment
  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 LaurenLouise

LaurenLouise

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 January 2019 - 02:54 PM

I am just starting out with astrophotography and I have a Nikon D3400 camera. I don’t know a ton about astrophotography so any help on which lens is best for starting out and any helpful accessories would be appreciated. I read that a neutral density filter can be helpful. Is an ND filter worth it?
  • Ryan Shoemakera likes this

#2 Kevin Ross

Kevin Ross

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Traverse City, MI

Posted 20 January 2019 - 03:36 PM

ND filter? No. We usually want more light, not less.

A good way to start out is with a camera lens and a tracker, like the Skywatcher Star Adventurer, or the iOptron Sky Guider Pro.

Then if you decide you like the hobby, you can start moving up to the really expensive stuff. :)

#3 terry59

terry59

Cosmos

• Loc: Colorado, USA

Posted 20 January 2019 - 03:40 PM

I am just starting out with astrophotography and I have a Nikon D3400 camera. I don’t know a ton about astrophotography so any help on which lens is best for starting out and any helpful accessories would be appreciated. I read that a neutral density filter can be helpful. Is an ND filter worth it?

Can you elaborate on your near-term objectives? 

#4 Ed Wiley

Ed Wiley

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Texas, USA

Posted 20 January 2019 - 03:44 PM

I always try to read up before making any decisions on equipment. Much depends on what you wish to photograph and how much time and money you wish to invest.

Here is an excellent resource. 

http://www.astropix.com/bgda/bgda.html

And an article:

https://www.skyandte...with-your-dslr/

Search around on the Web, there are lots of resources.

Ed