•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Please advice entry level ED APO to get started with AP

astrophotography imaging optics refractor equipment
  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 orionbay

orionbay

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: California, San Francisco Bay area

Posted 23 January 2019 - 09:41 PM

Hi! I want to get started with DSO AP and want to get a small scope (~80mm aperture and ~400mm total length). It would be nice to be able to take in on a plane in a backpack, and also to use it as a ultra long camera lens for terrestrial viewing (eg birds and far distant objects).

I have a very limited experience with telescopes in general, I got a 8" SCT a month ago. I'm at a very beginner level and have never seen a refractor.

Because I'm very new to this hobby, I'm not ready to spend a lot of money on it. I expect to fit under $950 including 0.8 FR.

After doing some research, I limited my search to just 3 options (though other options welcome):

• FCD1 Explore Scientific ED80: on sale for $584, with a FR will be $709. Has a cheaper FCD1 glass that I'm very concerned will upset me and deliver bad photos. And I read that crayford focuser is worse than rack and pinion.
  • FCD100 Explore Scientific ED80: on sale for $809, with FR $929. Has a very good FCD100 glass
  • William Optics GT7: FR package for $928.00. Has a very good FPL53 glass, though smaller FL (which may be bad?)

I cut off some other options like Orion and Meade, because they didn't make the budget, and $950 is really as big stretch as I ready to do to get started.

I also looked at classifieds, but didn't find anything nice at this time unfortunately.