•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Quantum 6 Bottom Fork Knob stiff

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 Ericcurry

Ericcurry

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Los Angeles

Posted 10 February 2019 - 05:06 PM

Hi All:

Can I ask the collective for advice.  I am just getting into understanding and repairing ( Wooden cases  dull metal surfaces of Fork etc.) my very old and beautiful Quantum 6 I just got.

I can see that this black knob that engages the clutch for the bottom dial / knob is super stiff.   It only rotates maybe 15 degrees or so.  When it is tightened, the larger round knob does rotates the scope.  When the black pin is rotated about 15 degrees clockwise it  disengages the dial, and the dial does not rotate the fork / scope.

Can I deal with this tight black knob my self?  Dare I try to disassemble this fork my self. I DO NOT want to screw it up .

Even though the fork looks tired, there are no major defects or dents etc.  All the knobs / dials  seem to work OK.

Lastly, is there a telescope repair in Los Angeles you know of?  I do not want to ship this far away as it costs a fortune and is dangerous.

Regards: Eric Curry

Attached Thumbnails

• Q6 Needs service.jpg

#2 Matt Looby

Matt Looby

Apollo

• Loc: Lake Champlain Valley

Posted 10 February 2019 - 05:23 PM

My Q4 was quit stiffer than my Q3.5.  I saw some grit between the rotating ring and the R..A.  decal  and remove as much grit as possible. I also adjusted the lever (by hand) until there was less resistance.

#3 TerryWood

TerryWood

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: USA

Posted 10 February 2019 - 06:28 PM