•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginner mount question.

• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Rudix

Rudix

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: South Africa

Posted 11 February 2019 - 12:35 PM

Hi Everyone!

I am new to astronomy and astrophotography. The last time I looked through a telescope must have been around 1979 when I was at school. I never truly lost interest but life and living in a large, light polluted, city kind of got in the way. Anyway, back to the present and my question.

I will be moving to a very dark area of my country (South Africa) in the next few months and with lots of time on my hands having recently retired I decided to get back into astronomy, specifically the photography side as I am a keen photographer.

Initially I am considering using my existing cameras and lenses (have decent lenses ranging from 12mm to 800mm). What I want to purchase is a mount I can use with the cameras/lenses but one that will also later be usable when I decide on a telescope, most likely a refractor of some description. I am mostly interested in deep sky objects.

The mount that I have been looking at, mostly because it seems decent and there is local stock (helping with very high transport costs for heavy objects), is the Sky-Watcher HEQ5-Pro. I have read reviews and it looks good, just wanting to make sure I do not overlook a little point that might make me regret it later. 

Any comments would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Rudi

• Gary Z likes this

#2 Jeff Struve

Jeff Struve

Soyuz

• Moderators
  • Loc: Iowa, USA

Posted 11 February 2019 - 12:38 PM

In my mind, that is a great place to start!

and welcome!

Jeff

• Rudix likes this

#3 Jon Rista

Jon Rista

ISS

• Loc: Colorado

Posted 11 February 2019 - 12:42 PM