•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Ultrastar Vs ZWO ASI294MC Pro

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 jkfrazier

jkfrazier

Sputnik

• topic starter
  • Loc: VA

Posted 13 February 2019 - 08:21 AM

I'm relatively new to EAA having been doing this for about a year. I'm currently using a Starlight Xpress Ultrastar with a C11 EdgeHD and Hyperstar.  Overall, I'm pleased with the performance of the Ultrastar, but wondering how much of an improvement the 294 will offer.  Most of my observing is deep sky, i.e. galaxies, nebulae etc.

I do all of this remotely and project from a 27" iMac to a 65" flat screen.

Thoughts?

jf

#2 saguaro

saguaro

Viking 1

• Loc: Southern Arizona

Posted 13 February 2019 - 11:00 AM

I'm sure others will comment on the choice of cameras. One thing to be aware of is that if you go with the 294 and want to use SharpCap live stacking, SharpCap is Windows-only, unlike Starlight Live which has a Mac version. I don't think it's a showstopper; I believe there are several methods available to run SharpCap on a Mac so hopefully others will comment on that too.

Edited by saguaro, 13 February 2019 - 11:03 AM.

#3 DSO_Viewer

DSO_Viewer

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 13 February 2019 - 11:58 AM

I'm sure others will comment on the choice of cameras. One thing to be aware of is that if you go with the 294 and want to use SharpCap live stacking, SharpCap is Windows-only, unlike Starlight Live which has a Mac version. I don't think it's a showstopper; I believe there are several methods available to run SharpCap on a Mac so hopefully others will comment on that too.

You can run sharpcap in Mac under windows! Moving up to a 294MC will be a huge improvement in both resolution and field of view. There has been many discussions here in the past and I would suggest you do a search for this.

Steve

#4 jkfrazier