•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Bino box donor suggestions

ATM binoculars beginner DIY refractor
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 bcarter1234

bcarter1234

Explorer 1

• topic starter

Posted 14 February 2019 - 11:58 AM

Hello,

I'm very new to astronomy having looked through a scope for the first time in January. I really enjoy DIY and would like to build a three mirror binucular telescope or perhaps a Bino Box in the vein of Mr Bill's project.

https://www.cloudyni...r/#entry4832410

I'd like suggestions for cheap donor scopes or sources. One thought (thanks Glenn) involves stacking two refractor OTAs, shortening the tube on the one further from the eye.

Any suggestions for readily available (read cheap and plentiful) refractors, objectives, secondary mirrors, diagonals, focusers, eypieces and other paraphernalia that might prove handy? If you have a junk box or garage full of stuff you no longer use this may be your opportunity. I'm cheap but I'm easy. ;-)   

I can pick up a Meade Infinity 102 at a reasonable price but the focal ration of f/5.9 might be a little long for this application. With all the experience here someone should be able to get me headed in the right direction even if it is image reversed and upside down.

Thanks in advance for any donations, especially intellectual ones.

Take care,

Brent

#2 Mr. Bill

Mr. Bill

Cosmos

• Loc: Northeastern Cal

Posted 14 February 2019 - 03:34 PM

I'm dismantling and parting out my Bino Box....

Are you interested in the Istar 127mm F/5.5 achromat objectives that I have?

Also have two 3.1 inch diagonals holders with enhanced mirrors

Edited by Mr. Bill, 14 February 2019 - 04:45 PM.

#3 bcarter1234

bcarter1234

Explorer 1

• topic starter

Posted 14 February 2019 - 03:36 PM

Mr Bill I'll send you a PM.

#4 bcarter1234

bcarter1234

Explorer 1