•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Orion redux after about 3 years of progress (M42)

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 roofkid

roofkid

Viking 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 14 February 2019 - 12:49 PM

Hi everyone,

I've been doing astrophotography for a little over three years now. I think I have come a long way in that time and learned a lot. When my girlfriend recently asked me for an image of the orion nebula for a large sized print I though "No, the old image wasn't too bad but you can do it better now".

So I got to work to create an image that is matching my current level of skill in this hobby. I want to share my result with you today.
Since the Orion Nebula is the brightest nebula in the northern hemisphere it is the easiest and one of the toughest to image well at the same time. You definitely need to do HDR when you have a camera like me and you want to capture the core and outer faint nebulosity.

The weather really made this image a challenge as I had not a single clear night from mid of November to mid of January. But with enough patience I finally managed to get the ~16h of exposure time done.

I opted for a different approach here and did not capture luminance but rather captured a lot of HA which I combined with a pseudo luminance from the RGB channels for the whole detail information. I'm still not sure if it was a good choice but I am happy with the final image. I hope you enjoy it :)

get.jpg?insecure

For comparison, here's a link to my first image: https://www.astrobin.com/270901/

• Gregory, psandelle, geethq and 7 others like this

#2 sink45ny

sink45ny

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Pennsyltucky

Posted 14 February 2019 - 01:03 PM

Looking good, thanks for sharing.

#3 roofkid

roofkid

Viking 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 February 2019 - 05:48 PM