•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Need some help, please: OIII in pacman / targets with lots of OIII?

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 the Elf

the Elf

Apollo

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Germany

Posted 17 February 2019 - 06:31 AM

Hello all,

I'm new to OIII. I'm using my Ha filter on a mono modded T3i almost since I started with AP and all was fine. With OIII several attempts failed. After two nights of Ha under clear but unsteady skies I shot one night of OIII, object is NGC281, the pacman. While Ha is deep an rich there is very little going on in OIII. Here is a screen shot of my PI-screen-stretches Ha and OIII masters:

HaOIII.jpg

Ha is 27 x 15min, Baader 7nm, OIII is only 14 x 15min, Baader 8nm. OIII is taken through thin fog like clouds, quite some background. All close to full moon. The moon was on it's way to gemini, quite far away from pacman.

I did a quick processing just to see how what it might look like. Used Ha as R, OIII as G and B (HOO) and then made an LRGB combination using a slightly boosted Ha as L.

CN.jpg

Now my long list of questions:

- Is this what is going on in OIII in the object? Could someone post a "good" OIII master, please?

- Is 3.5h just far to short?

- Is it true that NB works under the full moon with a sky as bright as my flat panel? Or should I shood OIII in moonless nights?

- How far from the moon should the object be for good results? (I learned when the moon light hits the front lens of the refractor I can forget it. I have not tried how the RC responds to it.)