•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Power supply assistance!

• Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 wargrafix

wargrafix

Soyuz

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Trinidad

Posted 17 February 2019 - 06:39 AM

While people will suggest going with deep cycle batteries and rigging them up, but I am not a great fan of that solution.

Is there a power solution that I can run my atlas pro for at least 8-10 hours reliable?

#2 Kokatha man

Kokatha man

Voyager 1

• Loc: "cooker-ta man" downunda...

Posted 17 February 2019 - 07:46 AM

If you look at the pik of my C14 on the EQ8 with its new pier in my latest thread in the SS Imaging forum you will see a purple "jumpstarter" unit at the base of the pier.

I have a lot of professional experience with both deep cycle & other lead-acid storage batteries from small aH ratings through to 500aH 2-volt units. (10hr/rate)

The single most important aspects of long battery life is ensuring you don't run a battery flat & that you recharge them asap once they are used - & also to give a "top-up" charge regularly even when not in use, be it from a specific trickle-charger or normal charger at an appropriate rate of charge...& if it is capable of being topped up with distilled water (much more preferable also imo) then this is a regular maintenance aspect also to check the electrolyte levels.

This ensures that they last as long as possible - the van you also see in that pikky has a set of 3 deep storage batteries (3x120ah = 360aH, 20hr/rate) which are now well over 6 years old & going strong due to a good regimen - but interestingly, the purple "jumpstarter" which has only a SLA (sealed lead acid) battery of pretty low capacity (aH) is over 7 years old & it & another identical one which I use for vehicle emergencies are both going strong!