•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Dolly Stability

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 JOEinCO

JOEinCO

Ranger 4

• topic starter
  • Loc: Colorado Front Range

Posted 17 February 2019 - 07:06 AM

Hello Group.... 

A friend has asked for help, but I have no experience with the equipment he is considering. I have a question for people using a dolly to move their scopes into position for observing.

I see many designs where the dolly ultimately sits on three threaded leveling rods as shown in the picture below.

To me it seems like a terrible base to put an excellent mount on. Any stability inherent to a heavy, quality mount now has to rely on 4"-5" of spindly 1/2" rod. It just seems like one is throwing everything a solid mount has to offer right out the door by using one of these. Any solid triangulation of the mount is then placed on three thin, unbraced "stilts".

Can some of you comment on the use of dollies with this design?

Attached Thumbnails

• Mount On Dolly.jpg

• BinoGuy and PatrickVt like this

#2 RunningMan

RunningMan

Messenger

Posted 17 February 2019 - 08:45 AM

I use a ScopeBuggy and found that stability greatly improved by using the wingnut and washer trick suggested in this thread: https://www.cloudyni...buggy-upgrades/