•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

iOptron Smart EQ for beginner DSO?

beginner astrophotography mount
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Walking_astrophotos

Walking_astrophotos

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 February 2019 - 04:56 PM

Hello Everyone, 

I'm really new to astrophotography, and I would like to get a tracking mount for the imaging rig I'm slowly building. I'm thinking of the iOptron Smart EQ, but I'm a little disappointed at the low payload capacity. So, does anyone have any low cost mounts that they would recommend? Also, what is your experience on the Smart EQ, and its payload capacity? Thanks for your help. 

#2 Aaron_tragle

Aaron_tragle

Viking 1

• Loc: Richmond, Virginia

Posted 19 February 2019 - 05:09 PM

I am an owner of a SmartEQ and can say that it is a decent option if you are planning on staying under 300mm with guiding. I used a 360mm refractor on it and it worked decently, but I was definitely pushing it's limits even with guiding. Think of the SmartEQ as a suped up SkyGuider Pro or Star Adventurer, except it has goto. 

#3 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

Hubble

Posted 19 February 2019 - 05:22 PM

Hello Everyone, 

I'm really new to astrophotography, and I would like to get a tracking mount for the imaging rig I'm slowly building. I'm thinking of the iOptron Smart EQ, but I'm a little disappointed at the low payload capacity. So, does anyone have any low cost mounts that they would recommend? Also, what is your experience on the Smart EQ, and its payload capacity? Thanks for your help. 

Know this.  The two biggest beginner mistakes are skimping on the mount, and using too big a scope.