•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Piggybacking an Ultrastar C

accessories
  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 roberjam

roberjam

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 February 2019 - 04:10 PM

Hi Folks,

I recently purchased a Starlight Xpress Ultrastar color camera.  I am relatively new to AP, and I wanted to try various types of methods.  The Ultrastar manual said the following about attaching the camera to a standard camera lens:

"A simple way of using the Ultrastar C is to attach a suitable camera lens and ‘piggyback’ it on a driven
telescope. You may find it difficult to buy a suitable ‘C’ mount lens, as the Ultrastar C chip is too large
to be fully illuminated by the cheaper versions that are widely available. You need a lens that is
specified for 2/3 inch sensors and these tend to be expensive ‘machine vision’ lenses. A relatively
cheap option is to use an SLR lens with a C to T or Pentax thread adaptor tube. The old Asahi 55 mm
F1.8 SLR lenses can be bought for as little as 20 pounds on Ebay and work very well with the Ultrastar
C. The correct focal distance for these lenses is about 45 mm, so you will need a C to lens thread
adaptor of about 32 mm overall length to achieve focus. A typical adaptor for a T2 lens is the Kipon
KP-LA-C-T2 and there are versions for EOS, OM lenses etc. In this mode, the field is fairly wide and
is good for comet and large nebula pictures. It also makes a very nice electronic finder.
"