•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Automated imaging, rmt cntrl obsv, Time for a software change?

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Ettu

Ettu

Ranger 4

• topic starter
  • Loc: 45N90W Wisconsin USA

Posted 21 February 2019 - 12:57 PM

I've been doing semi automated imaging (defined below) for a few years, and am considering the next step of working toward fully automated imaging.

I've been using Maxim DL, but it's been buggy and glitchy, and pricy.

So, what are the alternatives?

Here's what I mean by semi automated...

I manually select, GoTo, and center, my target and focus my primary camera.

Then get the auto guider following a guide star

Set up the program to take a series of timed exposures, with auto dithering between each one.

Set it all in motion, check that the first acquisition and dithering is working, and hopefully get an hour or so's nap (6-12 of 5-15min exposures) before the next target has to be set up.

So, any alternative to MaximDL? They would have to do at least the above.

Ultimately I'd like to set it up to automatically go to more than one target, and have it auto center, focus, track, and dither.

If I'm going to invest time, effort, & $, in something different, it has to do at least what I'm already doing, with the potential to do an automated nights worth.

Here's my equipment:

AP1100 mount with CP4 controller.

Canon DSLR (5DM2) with OAG (ZWO guide camera), or,  SBIG 8300 with integrated filter wheel and auto guider.

Optec absolute position focuser

A Win10 pro pc with plenty of horsepower. Which I remotely monitor and control via windows RDC 

I use hard wired ethernet connections wherever I can, USB to most everything else, Serial (Ser 2 USB adaptors) where need be.

the scopes are a Televue NP101 or a C11 Edge.