•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

handheld bino rig for weak, short arms

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 silv

silv

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 06 March 2019 - 05:33 AM

I'm new to enjoying binocular star gazing. The immediacy of handholding lower powered binocs in particular proved a joyful addition to the Goto refractor/binoviewer setup I use for mid magnification. 

Holding my old, rather heavy 7x50 only allowed very short stints and mounting them on a tripod seemed overkill in relation to its  cumbersome ergonomics. 

Accidentally, I found this contraption had stabilisation merit in that

- it keeps my hands beneath  chin height

- and also close to the body.

- But not too close to each other like in holding a monopod.  The greater distance between the hands makes a difference in weight perception and stabilisation. And also gives room to breathe without the chest movement being transmitted to the bino too much like it does when handholding the monopod. 

It extended viewing duration from short stints to relaxed, unnoticed forever-sessions with my, now 10x50. It only wasn't too comfy to hold at the edgy long bar and the short  knob you see in the photo in the other thread. 

The camera rig below now makes it perfect. I don't notice the additional weight of it which I estimate at 1200gr. Although, if I could, I would shorten the protruding bars in the back to lose a few superfluous grams. 

On the other hand, the bars form a cool bino stand, too. 

- Handle distance is adjustable.

- By pivoting the handles slightly backwards,  the hands can be placed under the centre of gravity or a bit further out .

- My Solomark bino adapter has a slim foot which makes mounting the binos on the sled close to the barndoor's centre bar possible.