•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Will be getting my first dedicated cooled QHY CMOS soon...

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 bnickeson

bnickeson

Ranger 4

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 March 2019 - 07:57 PM

I will be purchasing my first cooled CMOS camera soon, likely the QHY168c, and was looking for a little help regarding the imaging train.  I have been using a Canon 6D and 102mm refractor for a couple years with good success but I wanted something a bit more suited to smaller galaxies and nebulae during the summer season.  Unfortunately the optical train is a bit more complicated (to me, at least) with the QHY offering than a DSLR.  I will be purchasing an 8" Edge HD with reducer as well which is what the QHY will be mounted on almost exclusively.

QHY has some diagrams on their website that go along with this series of cameras but I wanted to pose the question to the community regarding OAG's, spacers, etc. to see if there are any cheaper or better options than what QHY offers for their cameras.  For those that have the QHY OAG, are you happy with it?  Is there something you wish you would have gotten instead?  I have the QHY5LII guide cam currently on my guide scope...can that be used for the OAG cam as well?  Are there any other adapters I should be using?  I noticed that QHY recommends a 2" UV/IR cut filter since their coating is different on this cam...any suggestions on that?

Thanks for any help.

#2 jtrezzo

jtrezzo

Viking 1

• Loc: Tampa Bay, FL

Posted 15 March 2019 - 10:52 PM