•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Tempest Fan Results and JMI Motofocus

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 aeroman4907

aeroman4907

Viking 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Castle Rock, Colorado

Posted Yesterday, 10:12 AM

I am just beginning to process a whole lunar mosaic imaged from last night in decent seeing.  I installed my Tempest fans and my JMI motofocus to my 8" EdgeHD.  The tempest fans did seem to make a difference, and I really liked the hands-off focusing with the JMI, even if it was still just focusing with the primary mirror.

I did a cropped test of Copernicus.  I should have chosen another crop where I remember craters that are hard to resolve, say around Rima Hadley, but here is my offering for Copernicus.  Pickering was variable from 4 to 5 while collimating.  Unfortunately I don't know the Copernicus region as well and some of my other images of the area are in significantly different lighting.  I think it is an improvement, but I can't yet tell how much closer to the limit of my 8" EdgeHD I am at.  Presented at 0.23"/px.

Copernicus.jpg

• Sunspot, DesertRat, George Bailey and 8 others like this

#2 RedLionNJ

RedLionNJ

Gemini

• Loc: Red Lion, NJ, USA

Posted Yesterday, 11:11 AM

This looks really promising, although I'm not sure what one (or more) criteria should be changed to get to that point of maximum resolution.

The extended Copernicus region is one of the tougher areas to align/stack really, really well - such a variation in brightness, with some dark areas being almost devoid of detail as well as some lighter areas. As you already knew, sun angle can make quite a bit of difference, too.