•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Set-up advice

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Vigilante

Vigilante

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 March 2019 - 03:34 AM

Hi. I am about 3-4 weeks away from completing my AP set-up and wanted a little advice please. I should mention that I am new to AP and am jumping straight into the deep end. Please don't advise me to start with a smaller scope or a DSLR. I have made up my mind with the direction I am going in, realize it will be a steep learning curve but I look forward to the challenge.

I have been doing solely visual astronomy for the past 2 and a half years. I started with a Celestron 8se but upgraded the mount a year ago to a SW EQ6-R.. Which I plan to be my 'foundation' mount.. well at least for the time being. Over the last 2 years, I have been doing a tonne of research and joined my local astronomy club where I have been drawing on the knowledge of others. I will be doing most of my AP from bortle 6-7 skies (back yard) in Christchurch, NZ (We're all coming to terms with everything and feeling safer - thank you)

So, within the next month I will be buying the following equipment;

• SW Esprit 120mm - bought locally 
  • ASI 1600 mm Pro, EFW and ZWO LRGB and 7nm NB filters (Ha, OIII and SII)
  • Either Guide scope or OAG
  • ASI 120 guide camera

My first question is given the weight of the Esprit (22lb) and the payload capacity of my mount (40lb I believe), am I better going for an OAG or a guide scope or is the weight negligible?

If I am to get a guide scope, what is a decent one to get?

Once all the gear is added, will my EQ6-R handle the weight? (I also plan on getting a USB Hub and maybe an ASI Air at a later date)