•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Considering abandoning mono viewing entirely

• Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 jtrezzo

jtrezzo

Viking 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Tampa Bay, FL

Posted 20 March 2019 - 01:29 PM

I have a full set of 2" 100 degree eyepieces, and some 82s, but I find myself hardly ever using them anymore. When I pop in the binoviewers and have a look, then take them out and look through say, my 20mm 100 degree, I struggle to find much advantage to mono viewing. It's uncomfortable, and has no depth. Even with the 100 degree eyepieces I find it appears as a wider field to just be looking through 2x24mm eyepieces in the binos. It also seems like despite the fact that the light from the telescope is being split between the two, using two eyes seems to make up any sensitivity to faint objects. Do others find the same? 

Perhaps my eyes are just not well suited to mono viewing? I am not a serious visual observer, quite casual really, mainly due to not having easy access to a dark site (Bortle 5 home). But in any case I am thinking about selling all my mono EPs and going with a few nice bino pairs instead. 

Has anyone just gone full binoviewer and gotten rid of all mono eyepieces? If yes, did you end up missing having them, perhaps even buying them again? Are there any certain times where you would absolutely not want to use a binoviewer and instead prefer to view with one eye? I am trying to avoid seller's regret...

Edited by jtrezzo, 20 March 2019 - 05:02 PM.

• mikeDnight and Miranda2525 like this

#2 gezak22

gezak22

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: On far side of moon. Send help.

Posted 20 March 2019 - 01:58 PM