•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Needing some input on longer FLs

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 jmillsbss

jmillsbss

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: New Albany, Mississippi, USA

Posted 21 March 2019 - 09:31 AM

CN  -  I'm still kinda new to this hobby/obsession and I'm still piecing together a decent eyepiece collection.  I have a 10" reflector and as such can see quite a good many faint fuzzy spots.  It's not a Go-To, so I'm having to learn the sky and star-hop quite a bit. I have to get close with the wider fov and then start stepping in.  Honestly, I love the hunt!  BUT, the longest eyepiece FL I have is a cheap, but decent, 32mm Celestron plossl that was in the EP kit.  I'm building a collection of Explore Scientific EPs one piece at a time.  I've got several of their 82 degree shorter focal lengths and a 62 degree 26mm. I also have their 2" focal extender.  I'd love to have their 30/82 or 40/68 but that's stretching my self-imposed budget constraint.  I have been seriously considering their 62 degree 40mm but now I've begun to consider the Tele Vue 55mm plossl or 40mm plossl.  I already know, when I mention the TV piece that this board perks up!  My question:  For the money, for the search for the faint fuzzies, which eyepiece gets the job done.  If anybody's got anything to sale, let me know.  Thanks in advance.....  J

#2 csa/montana

csa/montana

Den Mama & Gold Star Award Winner

• Moderators
  • Loc: montana

Posted 21 March 2019 - 09:40 AM

Welcome to Cloudy Nights!  Glad to have you join us!

I'm moving your post to Eyepieces, in order to get better assistance.  Enjoy the night skies!

#3 DavidWasch

DavidWasch

Mariner 2

• Loc: CT

Posted 21 March 2019 - 10:11 AM