•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

eyepieces/diagonals best suited to daytime terrestrial use with f13 127mm MAK?

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 DunninLA

DunninLA

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 March 2019 - 07:19 PM

I am new to this, having just set up a Celestron Maksutov 127mm with 1.25" focuser in replacement of an 80mm ED spotting scope, which I sold yesterday.

I mostly view from my back deck, which is at 600' elevation an .6 miles from the ocean.   I look at ships, dolphins, and the beaches about 2-3 miles away to see what people are up to.

It seems this hobby has so many different expressions and pursuits, but mine is very narrow.  I am only concerned with eyepieces best suited to daytime view out to sea, and up the coast, using my f13 MAK.

I read this thread:  https://www.cloudyni...omparison-r2651  and came away with an appreciation for the different strengths an eyepiece may have in different circumstances.

Here are the attributes that I think, at this stage of early usage, I value:

- Longish eye relief as I wear glasses for mild astigmatism
- Center field sharpness.  I am not much concerned about outer 20% distortions
- High contrast / colors that pop
- wide field of view but only if other attributes listed here are not compromised.   I'm fine with 50*
- not expensive or rare

As you can see, I don't need to pay for ultra flat eyepieces whose claim to fame is clean focus at the periphery of the field of view in very fast scopes (e.g. $450 TV 24mm Panoptic).   My scope is very slow, and apparently also quite forgiving of eyepiece design.