•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Are Orion triplets not as good as other brands in the same price range?

• Please log in to reply
57 replies to this topic

#1 cattom1985

cattom1985

Lift Off

• topic starter

Posted 22 March 2019 - 12:49 PM

Hi, there, I am a beginner in astrophotography and I use Orion telescopes. I have an ED80T and an EON 115ED. People in my club keep telling me that Orion triplets are not as good as other brands, such as Explore Scientific and Astrotech. They recommend me to get telescope from these brands. I searched online but cannot find any photos validating that. So is it for real or is just a myth? Has anyone done side by side comparison between Orion and other brands in terms of photography pls?

Many thanks!

#2 jeremiah2229

jeremiah2229

Apollo

• Loc: Illinois, USA N 37° W 89°

Posted 22 March 2019 - 12:53 PM

No side by side here but if I had them I would just use them and ignore their comments. The best is what you have and use.  ;)

Peace...

• Jon Isaacs, punk35, Mark Costello and 9 others like this

#3 Jeff Struve

Jeff Struve

Soyuz

• Moderators
  • Loc: Iowa, USA

Posted 22 March 2019 - 12:56 PM

To me... every price bracket is pretty similar... a new $400 scope is pretty representative of the same size/style as another $400 scope...

This is not true if talking new vs pre-owned

• CounterWeight likes this

#4 Berny

Berny

Mariner 2

Posted 22 March 2019 - 01:10 PM

Take a look through other peoples scopes if you can, and make up you own mind.

• Jim Waters likes this

#5 Jon Isaacs

Jon Isaacs

ISS

• Loc: San Diego and Boulevard, CA

Posted 22 March 2019 - 01:10 PM

I think your scopes are just fine.

The Eon 115 ED is very similar to the AstroTech 115EDT, very likely they are made at the same factory to the same specs.