•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

New to Microscopes and loving it!

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 oasmith

oasmith

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 23 March 2019 - 09:44 AM

Hi All,

Clouds and a full moon have stymied the galaxy bonanza for this time of year for me. So, i turned towards going tiny. I got an AmScope B120C, and have found myself fascinated just with cheek cells. I hope to get some other cell types at some point, but cheeks are easy. The scope has a camera attachment, and i took a few pictures hoping to see what you guys have to say about possible organelles. I have been able to identify the neucleolus, and vacuoles, and general cytoplasm, but was hoping to find mitochondria. I don't have the methylene blue yet, so i improvised with food coloring. It came out ok. One question i had was, how do i tell the difference between bacteria sitting on the cell membrane, vs mitochondria inside the cell? Aren't they going to be basically the same size?

Any suggestions for things i can experiment with at the organelles level? The scope goes up to 2500x, but i can never get in focus (just like how i can never get Jupiter in focus with my 2.3mm eyepiece (maybe if i lived in Atacama)).

Attached Files

#2 TOMDEY

TOMDEY

Aurora

• Loc: Springwater, NY

Posted 23 March 2019 - 10:03 AM

Nice!

Yep, 2500x is ~empty magnification~ for even the best optical microscopes, even with oil-immersion, matching condenser, dark-field, etc. Will still be blurry because it's impossibly high mag (Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle). To go that high, need a good electron microscope!    Tom

• B 26354 and oasmith like this

#3 B 26354

B 26354

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Southern California semi-desert (NELM mag 5.3)

Posted 23 March 2019 - 10:17 AM