•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Light Pollution and DSOs - Bortle 4 vs. Bortle 5

• Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#1 MellonLake

MellonLake

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Toronto, Canada

Posted 25 March 2019 - 02:33 PM

To set the background a bit:

• I am a noob, 4 months with my XT10.  I have used the telescope probably 15 times in this period (the weather in the Toronto area has been terrible)
  • I live in a Bortle 8-9 area.  I am lucky if I can see a dozen stars from home.  
  • To use my telescope more effectively, I go to either a Bortle 5 (40 minute drive) or Bortle 4 (90 minute drive) area.
  • I have generally gone to Bortle 5 area because it is so much closer 
  • I have been spending my time going through the Messier objects.  When Messier objects are not visible I generally hunt down a few interesting doubles, check for E and F in the trapezium, or see how close I can get to the Rayleigh limit, etc.
  • My process is to arrive at the site at sundown.  After setting up, collimating, and starting the scope to cool, I hunt down a couple of doubles I know during astronomical twilight just to make sure things were working well.  After cool down I do a star test to confirm my collimation and tweak if needed.    

The past few times I have gone to the Bortle 5 site, I have tried and tried to find Messier objects but it has been frustrating, once in a while I can find one but it is just not consistent.  I was kind of stuck at 20 or so Messier objects identified for about a month when going to the Bortle 5 site once a week. I had tried to find M109, and the galaxies in Leo 5 different times at the Bortle 5 site with no luck.