•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Smallest lightest travelli Eaa Scope?

• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 Peter_-_

Peter_-_

Vostok 1

• topic starter

Posted 06 April 2019 - 10:44 AM

Hi All,

I'm totally new to Eaa, and from advice gleaned on this forum I've been recommended a lodestar 2x with the new Sony ICX829 sensor for use from my suburban light polluted viewing site. I'm thinking along the lines of fast stacking  20 second subs to get a live view experience.

https://www.widescre...autoguider.html

I was thinking of mounting a very light scope on a mini Skywatcher Az5 gti which has a max capacity of 5kg. Mount weighs 1.3kg. Hoping to get a total grab & go weight of about 5kg or less, so that would leave about 3.5kg for the scope.

https://www.firstlig...unt-tripod.html

This set up will be used to view DSO's in light polluted skies, not for any visual work.

Any suggestions of suitable travel scopes that will do the job?

Edited by Peter_-_, 06 April 2019 - 10:49 AM.

#2 Hesiod

Hesiod

Mercury-Atlas

Posted 06 April 2019 - 11:00 AM

Given the small sensor and large pixel of the Lodestar you may pick a very short focal small refractor if want a somewhat larger fov (I'd guess 300mm or less to have roughly 1° fov).

Depending on the budget may look into something like the Vixen fl55, the small Borgs, or the upcoming William Optic RedCat.

Or go cheap and get a ST80, or even a 50mm finderscope (those are <200mm).

Another cheap option, but with a very different outcome, is something like the Vixen VMC95 or 110: these have a 1050mm focal lenght, so expect a very small fov (probably 1/3 of a degree), and slow focal ratios (obviously the 110 is a tad better), forcing to rise the gain and take more/longer exposures.

#3 Peter_-_

Peter_-_

Vostok 1

• topic starter

Posted 06 April 2019 - 12:19 PM