Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

AZ tracking mount: AZ-EQ5 or AZ Mount Pro?

  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 NHRob

NHRob

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 7764
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2004
  • Loc: Southern Cloud-Hampshire

Posted 10 April 2019 - 10:09 AM

Looking for a tracking mount for my 6" f/6 newt OTA .. about 20-25lbs, 36" long ... visual only.

I have a nice TPOD-110 tripod to put it on so the tripod base will be good.

 

I can't seem to find the weight for the SW AZ-EQ5 mount head alone.  Anyone know?

The iOptron AZ Mount Pro spec is 13lb for the head by itself.

 

They both claim similar capacity ... 30-33lb .. but, which would be more solid?

 

If need be I could move up to an AZ-EQ6 but, am trying to keep weight down.

 

Thx

 

 



#2 Spacefreak1974

Spacefreak1974

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4281
  • Joined: 09 Aug 2015
  • Loc: Indianapolis, IN

Posted 10 April 2019 - 10:51 AM

Here's another option if you are concerned. The heads are only around 25lbs. The one at the link comes with the AZ adapter, but its able to be turned into an EQ rather easily. I was looking at this option for a 6" ED Doublet refractor a while back. You can also get their Tri-Pier instead of a tripod which seems really cool and easy to deploy and carry

https://www.ioptron....-p/8000e-az.htm



#3 Jim Davenport

Jim Davenport

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 502
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2006
  • Loc: Seminole Fl

Posted 10 April 2019 - 11:47 AM

With a 36" long OTA, you might need the 8032 mini pier for the AZ pro mount. Otherwise a tube that long could possibly slew into a tripod leg.



#4 Spacefreak1974

Spacefreak1974

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4281
  • Joined: 09 Aug 2015
  • Loc: Indianapolis, IN

Posted 10 April 2019 - 12:03 PM

With a 36" long OTA, you might need the 8032 mini pier for the AZ pro mount. Otherwise a tube that long could possibly slew into a tripod leg.

One reason the mini pier might be the better option than a tripod



#5 dustyc

dustyc

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 228
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2014
  • Loc: Phoenix,AZ

Posted 10 April 2019 - 02:33 PM

Here's another option if you are concerned. The heads are only around 25lbs. The one at the link comes with the AZ adapter, but its able to be turned into an EQ rather easily. I was looking at this option for a 6" ED Doublet refractor a while back. You can also get their Tri-Pier instead of a tripod which seems really cool and easy to deploy and carry

https://www.ioptron....-p/8000e-az.htm

I think those are now discontinued. (new CEM40 out in the wild)

Too bad. I like those convertible type mounts!



#6 NHRob

NHRob

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 7764
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2004
  • Loc: Southern Cloud-Hampshire

Posted 10 April 2019 - 03:05 PM

I invested in the TPOD-110 so, I'll stick with that.



#7 Spacefreak1974

Spacefreak1974

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4281
  • Joined: 09 Aug 2015
  • Loc: Indianapolis, IN

Posted 10 April 2019 - 03:19 PM

I think those are now discontinued. (new CEM40 out in the wild)

Too bad. I like those convertible type mounts!

I haven't heard of them being discontinued



#8 dustyc

dustyc

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 228
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2014
  • Loc: Phoenix,AZ

Posted 10 April 2019 - 11:41 PM

Opt and B&H show discontinued and no longer available.



#9 l_stoian79

l_stoian79

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2013
  • Loc: Timisoara, Romania

Posted 11 April 2019 - 01:02 AM

Hi Rob

 

I use a SW AZEQ5 for a C8EdgeHD and a 150F5 refractor mounted in parallel. That is one super convenient setup (low and high magnification for the same object without swapping EPs smirk.gif  )

The mount head itself is ~7.7kg in weight.

I have used initially the mount on the "travel pier" (center pillar on a short tripod, original from SW) but when adding those 2 "large" OTAs I replaced the tripod with the stainless steel EQ5/6 tripod . That is very stiff and rigid, no shaking issues anymore.

 

Looking for a tracking mount for my 6" f/6 newt OTA .. about 20-25lbs, 36" long ... visual only.

 

.....

 

I can't seem to find the weight for the SW AZ-EQ5 mount head alone.  Anyone know?

.......


  • Jon_Doh likes this

#10 Jon_Doh

Jon_Doh

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2314
  • Joined: 16 Sep 2011
  • Loc: Just South of Pluto

Posted 11 April 2019 - 08:59 AM

Rob,

 

I use Orion's version of this mount with a 140 mm refractor that fully dressed out weighs in around 22-25 lbs.  I was told by the folks at Orion that the mount could actually handle up to its stated weight load unlike some other mounts that can only handle 50-70% of their stated weight.  I have one of those other mounts and know this to be true.  Anyway, my mount is identical to the one you are considering except for the color and given the size and weight of your telescope I would guess the mount can handle it fine.  It's a great mount.  I use it in AZ mode and alignment and gotos are easy and spot on.



#11 Aeternam

Aeternam

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 189
  • Joined: 29 May 2014
  • Loc: Luxembourg, N49 E06

Posted 11 April 2019 - 01:47 PM

Hi Rob

 

I use a SW AZEQ5 for a C8EdgeHD and a 150F5 refractor mounted in parallel. That is one super convenient setup (low and high magnification for the same object without swapping EPs smirk.gif  )

The mount head itself is ~7.7kg in weight.

I have used initially the mount on the "travel pier" (center pillar on a short tripod, original from SW) but when adding those 2 "large" OTAs I replaced the tripod with the stainless steel EQ5/6 tripod . That is very stiff and rigid, no shaking issues anymore.

Hey,

 

Do you have a picture of that setup somewhere? I have the same mount and I've been contemplating that config...



#12 l_stoian79

l_stoian79

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2013
  • Loc: Timisoara, Romania

Posted 11 April 2019 - 02:16 PM

See bellow the mount with both tubes. These are with standard tripod:

15550104049724.jpg 15550104050606.jpg 15550104050355.jpg

 

I have to look after pics with eq5 tripod 


Edited by l_stoian79, 11 April 2019 - 02:22 PM.

  • BinoGuy likes this

#13 l_stoian79

l_stoian79

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 49
  • Joined: 08 Jan 2013
  • Loc: Timisoara, Romania

Posted 11 April 2019 - 02:26 PM

This with eq5 tripod..... sorry, only a night picture, but should do

 

15550106365107.jpg


  • BinoGuy likes this

#14 Aeternam

Aeternam

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 189
  • Joined: 29 May 2014
  • Loc: Luxembourg, N49 E06

Posted 12 April 2019 - 04:32 AM

Thank you!



#15 NHRob

NHRob

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 7764
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2004
  • Loc: Southern Cloud-Hampshire

Posted 12 April 2019 - 06:28 AM

Thanks guys.  It sounds like the AZ-EQ5 might do the job.   Still not sure how the iOptron AZ mount Pro compares though.

I'll go with either one which is more steady and solid.



#16 fate187

fate187

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: 16 May 2015

Posted 12 April 2019 - 04:42 PM

Hi Rob,

 

I have an iOptron AZMount Pro on order. To be delivered next Monday. I also have a used Equinox 120ED incoming, which I want to use with the mount. I already have an AZ-EQ6 and was recently able to get my hands on an AZ-EQ5. Of course the AZ-EQ5 is lighter, thus better to handle. But everything felt a little more loose on the smaller mount. Not that this will say anything about its carrying capacity. Especially considering what you want to do with it.

I will test the iOptron next week and can report if you want. I will also put my LZOS123 on it, which is around 10kg+accessory. I will measure again, because if I remember correctly thats only the OTA.

 

best

Michael


  • Jim Davenport likes this

#17 NHRob

NHRob

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 7764
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2004
  • Loc: Southern Cloud-Hampshire

Posted 12 April 2019 - 08:18 PM

HiMichael,

  Wow, that is one nice set of scopes you have.

Thanks, I'd love to hear what you think on the iOptron.



#18 fate187

fate187

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: 16 May 2015

Posted 13 April 2019 - 01:59 PM

Hi Rob,

 

I got the mount today. Unfortinatelly only the mount head. The post mans truck was fully loaded, thus he wasn't able to bring the package with the tripod. I hope for a delivery on monday.

 

I was still able to play around with the head. Quite nice compared to the "old-style" stuff like AZ-EQ6 oder AP1100, granted those mounts have different kind of users in mind :). What I like is the integrated GPS and compass. The mount spins after the start up to calibrate and will then move to the brightest target currently in the sky. Cannot say much else at this moment. What I am thinking about right now is to utilize my Skywatcher tripod from the AZ-EQ6 instead of the ioptron mount that comes with the mount. I would instead return the iOptron tripod and get the 8" minipier extension. I will need an adapter to attach the extension to the tripod.

I will also try the SW tripod directly with the AZMount pro. I think the bolt from the SW tripod fits to the iOptron mount.

 

Best regards

Michael


  • BinoGuy likes this

#19 NHRob

NHRob

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 7764
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2004
  • Loc: Southern Cloud-Hampshire

Posted 13 April 2019 - 04:22 PM

Great.  Can't wait to hear how they compare.

Just curious,  since you already had the AZ-EQ5, why did you order the AZ mount Pro??


Edited by NHRob, 13 April 2019 - 04:23 PM.


#20 fate187

fate187

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: 16 May 2015

Posted 14 April 2019 - 05:04 AM

The AZ-EQ5 is not mine. I was only using it once when I was helping setting up the gear for my girlfried at the university, who will use this for teaching purposes :). What sets the optron apart from the AZ-EQ5 ist the feeling, that you handle just a "block". Where the eq5 feels solid, its a tad more difficult to set up, that the ioptron. However, this only convience. The capacity should be higher on the az-eq5.

 

regards

Michael


  • BinoGuy likes this

#21 fate187

fate187

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: 16 May 2015

Posted 15 April 2019 - 12:20 AM

I have to emphasize, that I really like this all in piece setup. To have the battery included is so convenient. And built in Wifi. However, I had to adjust the load of the worm wheen of the altitude. The pressure was too high causing the motor to stall. You could hear that by a clicking/clunk noise coming from the mount. Fellow CN jsmithsd described fixing this here: https://www.cloudyni...e/#entry9070546 .

 

Without having the matching tripod, I am more and more leaning towards using my good old SW tripod. The center bolts seem to match (metric 12x1.75). What I loose is the leveling adjustment. But I was readily leveling my AZ-EQ6 in AZ-mode without such an adjustment just by using the tripod legs. So it should work and save me some money. I am a bit off-topic here, I hope this is ok :)

 

Michael



#22 dustyc

dustyc

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 228
  • Joined: 10 Oct 2014
  • Loc: Phoenix,AZ

Posted 15 April 2019 - 03:20 PM

Did you have a load on the mount when you adjusted the attitude axis? I have played with mine and determined that this clunk noise is not due to gear/worm spacing. Ioptron is investigating.


Edited by dustyc, 15 April 2019 - 03:20 PM.


#23 PatNois

PatNois

    Lift Off

  • *****
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2014

Posted 15 April 2019 - 06:38 PM

I recently purchased an Ioptron AZ Pro to carry my nearly 25 lb. f6.3 refractor. After balancing the mount in both axis and carefully leveling the mount, it works beautifully. I too have the AVALON tpod 110 tripod and the combo is absolutely rock steady. The convenience factor with the built in battery and WiFi is fantastic.



#24 fate187

fate187

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: 16 May 2015

Posted 15 April 2019 - 11:58 PM

Did you have a load on the mount when you adjusted the attitude axis? I have played with mine and determined that this clunk noise is not due to gear/worm spacing. Ioptron is investigating.

No, no load yet, because I am still waiting for the tripod to be delivered fingertap.gif . I will test this again though. The clunk was getting on my nerves, so I had to do something about it ;)

 

Michael



#25 NHRob

NHRob

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 7764
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2004
  • Loc: Southern Cloud-Hampshire

Posted 16 April 2019 - 04:47 AM

I recently purchased an Ioptron AZ Pro to carry my nearly 25 lb. f6.3 refractor. After balancing the mount in both axis and carefully leveling the mount, it works beautifully. I too have the AVALON tpod 110 tripod and the combo is absolutely rock steady. The convenience factor with the built in battery and WiFi is fantastic.

Hi Patnois,

  Nice.  Did you balance with a counterweight on the other side from the scope?




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics