•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

recommended book on astrophotography

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 cbutterworth

cbutterworth

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 April 2019 - 01:39 PM

I am new to astrophotography and would like recommendations that suitable books.

What I'd like is a comprehensive book that could cater for the beginner through the experienced.

Any ideas?

Thanks,

Charlie

#2 gotak

gotak

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: Toronto, CA

Posted 15 April 2019 - 01:47 PM

The internet's the ultimate book really why spend money on buying one?

#3 wrnchhead

wrnchhead

Viking 1

• Loc: NE Kansas

Posted 15 April 2019 - 01:52 PM

I am just parroting what I have read here, everyone will recommend https://agenaastro.c...ed-bracken.html

I haven't bought it myself yet, but plan to some day. 

#4 Stelios

Stelios

Fly Me to the Moon

• Moderators
  • Loc: West Hills, CA

Posted 15 April 2019 - 02:06 PM

Totally disagree. My advice is to spend money and buy one. "The Internet" is a very unreliable book, with a ton of contradictory and confusing advice. 

One of the best books is the often recommended (with just reason) Deep Sky Imaging Primer. It is an excellent guide to understanding the hobby, and offers a strong section on processing images using two of the overwhelmingly most popular software.