•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Advice on getting started

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 mrdestefano

mrdestefano

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Chester County, PA

Posted 17 April 2019 - 08:46 AM

I'm interested in getting advice on the quickest (and most prudent) way to get into planetary imaging (mainly interested in Jupiter and Saturn). I'm just looking for acceptable results and my preference is to use what I have as much as possible to start. I've been imaging DSO's (unguided with a DSLR) for a couple years now. I have a Nikon D5300, GOTO Skyview Pro Mount, 6” F/5 reflector and Tele Vue 2x barlow. I’ve been reading up on all this so am familiar with “luck imaging”, stacking software etc. for planetary imaging.

Option 1, Use my Nikon D5300: From what I’ve read using live view to capture video is not optimal with this camera so this may not be an acceptable option. I’d consider “eyepiece projection” but am guessing this may also not lead to acceptable results.

Option 2, Buy an Astro camera: I’d like to keep this as inexpensive as possible. Maybe an ASI224MC or ASI290 and a 3x barlow? I say a 3x barlow because from what I’ve read, this gets me closer to the optimal focal ratio. However, I do wonder whether pushing my 750mm reflector to these focal lengths would work well. Maybe my existing 2x barlow would be good enough? Also, another consideration for choosing a camera is that dual usage for EAA or and/or as a guide camera would definitely be a bonus.

Other options?

Thanks!

#2 ngc7319_20

ngc7319_20

Viking 1

• Loc: MD

Posted 17 April 2019 - 09:20 AM

I think "option 2" is the way to go.  Video with a DSLR probably means a lot of image / video compression and related artifacts. The softwares are more geared towards data from these ASI and similar cameras.