•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginner's question about a simple observing set up during the early "learning stage"

beginner equipment observing
  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 SimonIRE

SimonIRE

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: South East England

Posted 19 April 2019 - 01:58 AM

Good morning people, 

I am interested to know what peoples thoughts are on the "ergonomics" of a basic observing session set up. Some context will help to explain. 

I am a complete novice, working my way through "Turn left at Orion" and last night went into my Paddock to do some simple observing with my binoculars (big ones - 20 x 80s with a very good tripod). The sky was drenched in moonlight so I began observing the moon and then started to orientate myself with my planisphere and get a sense of the way the sky was moving over time. Then I simply started identifying individual stars and looking for their relationships in constellations. I admit - this is ridiculously basic stuff but I was thrilled to be doing it. I am keen to move slowly so as to limit frustrations - a stretch of gradual successes in small steps is what I am after. 

[I had initially set my self the goal of locating a few Messier objects of the "easy variety" but I think that was too ambitious for this first 2 hour session. Tonight I will try this]

The issue is that I had no organised "set up" with my equipment and often found myself fumbling around looking for my planisphere in the dark and referring to a phone app which wasn't working very well with my red torch in my mouth. The viewing time I had was frustrated by these things. Of note - I actually didn't like having my phone with me. There is something about a mobile phone that tethers you to your working life.