Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

lx200gps module replacement 10in gps unit

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 fullotto

fullotto

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2010
  • Loc: PA.

Posted 21 April 2019 - 12:49 PM

hi again,

 

i am looking for a set of instructions on how to replace a gps module in my 10in lx200 gps unit.

 

i have been putting up posts on this scope not getting a gps fix upon start-up. i still have a couple of thing to try

first before i go this route. but i want to get all my ducks in a row just in case i need to replace it. i know its not

that important for the scope to work but thats what the scope was intended to do so i would like it to function as so.

 

if anyone has a link to some instructions on how to replace it or you know from first hand experience how to...

please let me know.

 

thank you for your time!



#2 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2563
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 21 April 2019 - 02:55 PM

Gday fullotto

 

You remove the plastic fork arm cover and the lump can be unscrewed from inside ( 2 screws )

It just plugs onto a std jumper on the card

That said, to "see" if it is working, you can use my PEC editor

http://members.optus...om.au/johansea/

There is a dedicated tab there for "reading" the gps.

Just hit the ":gps" button ( or if patched, the ":gpx" button )

and the GPS data will start streaming out

If you can see valid GPS sentences, then the unit is working, but not able to fix yet .

It can take up to 16mins to refresh its almanac if the battery is flat

so just leave it till it fixes.

If it is showing data, a new battery should fix the problem.

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia



#3 iwannabswiss

iwannabswiss

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 761
  • Joined: 14 Feb 2014
  • Loc: Charleston SC

Posted 21 April 2019 - 03:04 PM

Forgive me for asking, but when you say your scope is "not getting a GPS fix upon start-up," do you mean at all or are you getting an incorrect date?  I ask, only because I have not seen any of your previous threads regarding the issue you're having with GPS and recently there was an update to the GPS issue that is now making many scopes have incorrect information like saying it's the year 2099.



#4 fullotto

fullotto

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2010
  • Loc: PA.

Posted 21 April 2019 - 03:37 PM

its like it has been turned off by previous owner. this is a used scope. the other day i turned it on to for the first time to check it out.

 

it starts out with welcome message, then version ( or vise versa) then the sun warning. from there it goes/says "setup align".

 

i have had my other gps scope mounted in my obs in polar mode for years. always parked when done so i never had to do the initialize thing.

 

if i`m not mistaken, after the sun warning it would do a gps fix with all the ******, then the setup align.

 

this used one does not get a fix i guess. i tried a complete "reset" and the only thing that changed was the autostar asking what type of scope i was using. so i`m guessing the gps module is not working or the previous owner has it turned off. but i thought a reset would have taken care of that.



#5 fullotto

fullotto

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2010
  • Loc: PA.

Posted 21 April 2019 - 03:37 PM

and thanks for the info OZ, appreciate all the answers you`ve given me.

 

changing 2032 battery is next. just checking but is it impossible to change battery from just taking out the front panel?

 

everyone says the base has to be removed.


Edited by fullotto, 21 April 2019 - 03:39 PM.


#6 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2563
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 21 April 2019 - 03:42 PM

Gday Fullotto

It is possible but not always easy.

It is a very tight fit and not worth the effort/risk

 

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia



#7 fullotto

fullotto

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2010
  • Loc: PA.

Posted 21 April 2019 - 04:45 PM

do you mean like snapping the board?



#8 OzAndrewJ

OzAndrewJ

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2563
  • Joined: 30 Nov 2010

Posted 21 April 2019 - 05:36 PM

Gday fullotto

Nope, damaging the edges, as there are very fine traces near the edges of the PCB

Also, getting the cable looms of can be a bit tight.

Andrew Johansen Melbourne Australia



#9 fullotto

fullotto

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: 03 Oct 2010
  • Loc: PA.

Posted 21 April 2019 - 05:41 PM

ok thank you, i`ll be going thru the base.




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics