•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

CEM60 and a Whole New World

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 zakry3323

zakry3323

Viking 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Pittsburgh

Posted 22 April 2019 - 09:14 PM

Tonight is a night of many successes. I've been using my trusty AVX for about 3 years now and guiding RMS under typical conditions have usually fallen somewhere around 1.5- 2" when using a 1.025 arc/sec image scale. Lots of tossed subs at that scale, and had to switch back to a smaller, lighter refractor to make the most of my time. 

I'm using a CEM60 now, and this is its real first light. For the first time I've had success using SGP's plate solving and centering, and after a good polar alignment and calibration in PHD2, I'm getting .73 arc/sec average without any tweaking. 

There's nothing like consistent, round stars! Now for a cold porter while waiting to see if the meridian flip works :)

Whoo!! 

• NMCN, psandelle, Ken Sturrock and 9 others like this

#2 Eric Horton

Eric Horton

Vostok 1

Posted 22 April 2019 - 09:21 PM

Sounds like my experiences when I switched to cem60. Last 3 nights .20 or under for guiding and meridian flips were all flawless. I use sgp for software
  • psandelle and zakry3323 like this

#3 gotak

gotak

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Toronto, CA

Posted 22 April 2019 - 10:15 PM

Good for you! You are finding out why the mount gets recommended a lot now a days.

For flips set the mount to go 1 degree pass. And set SGP to flip at. This way they don't fight each other at the meridian. 

Btw now you have my crazy imagination with a CEM60 and a scope on a magic carpet singing. Yes I have young daughters in the house, and I know all the disney stuff... 

Edited by gotak, 22 April 2019 - 10:20 PM.

• NMCN and zakry3323 like this

#4 zakry3323

zakry3323

Viking 1

• topic starter