•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

SVbony surprises a skeptic

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 gnowellsct

gnowellsct

Hubble

• topic starter

Posted 24 April 2019 - 03:34 PM

I have been looking for a Vixen style clamp to replace the OEM clamp on my Geoptik guide scope micro-adjuster.  I just don't feel comfortable mounting a $3.5k apo in the Geoptik to be held by one screw on one side.   I don't know why.  I've been doing it with my Vixen 102 for 14 years and aside from marking up the dovetail it has worked fine.  (The Vixen 102 ED doublet with Moonlite is about the same weight as the CFF 92 triplet with FT).

I took a chance and ordered the Svbony Vixen clamp.  It appears to be well thought at.  The sizable adjusting knobs have a nice smooth feel.  The moving clamp part is brass.  It appears to be a well thought out piece and adaptable to many situations.  

I am not 100% sure that it meets my needs--I had hoped for *more total contact area* between the screw doing the pressing on one side and the surface against the dovetail on the other.  Adding up that total surface on the OEM plus the screw on the other side, there is actually 2mm less of contact on the Svbony piece than there is on the OEM Geoptik.  On the other hand, the spacing is better on the SVbony piece, you can see how much longer it is in comparison,  in addition to having two separate clamps.  So it feels more solid or at least is pyschologically more solid.