•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginner digital AP camera suggestions

astrophotography imaging
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 joseph.gagnon

joseph.gagnon

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: New Hampshire, USA

Posted 25 April 2019 - 06:56 PM

I have been involved in amateur astronomy for over 40 years, but am completely new to digital astrophotography. I currently possess an AstroPhysics StarFire 155 and have recently acquired a Losmandy G11 mount. Our plan is to retire to Costa Rica in the next couple of years and with the extra time and different lifestyle, I would like to look into doing some AP. It is possible at some point that I might acquire a second scope, smaller and faster.

I am looking for suggestions and recommendations on cameras to use for this purpose. As I've said, I'm completely new to digital AP and realize there's a lot to it and a lot to learn. I guess the choices are DSLR or dedicated CCD, with lots of variations in each category. Since I'm starting out, I would assume that going the DSLR route is probably the logical choice, and then (possibly) migrating to CCD as skill increases.

I would appreciate any information with regards to both types of cameras, their pros and cons and what features/capabilities/criteria I should think about and look for. The current array of equipment available is overwhelming and I don't know what matters most. Suggestions of useful information sources, online or in print would also be appreciated.

#2 scadvice

scadvice

Viking 1

• Vendors
  • Loc: Lodi, California

Posted 25 April 2019 - 07:25 PM