•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Celestron PWI and Gamepads

• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 hpanken

hpanken

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 28 April 2019 - 07:59 AM

I am new to Astronomy and this forum.  Sorry if this is posted in the wrong topic.

Is it possible to use a game pad to control alignment for PWI?

I found the laptop to be awkward.

Howard

• Stefan042 likes this

#2 makeitso

makeitso

Ranger 4

• Loc: SoCal

Posted 28 April 2019 - 09:29 AM

I can’t say about a game pad or not specifically but, I am working on either getting a mouse or game controller that can do the slewing. It would need to be configured so you can use the device to operate the direction keys. That shouldn’t be to har I don’t think. I’m checking out different places trying to find one where the software allows the buttons to be reassigned. 

Jack

• Stefan042 likes this

#3 hpanken

hpanken

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 28 April 2019 - 09:38 AM

Some of the more advanced mice from Logitech have enough buttons. I probably can do something similar with then the gamepad which have other buttons.

#4 tomwall

tomwall

Messenger

• Loc: Arizona, USA

Posted 28 April 2019 - 09:55 AM

My friends and I just got together to play with this software. On balance, we liked it a lot. 

My interest relates to your concern. Controlling Nexremote from the computer is very challenging. The old school work around was to use a game controller to manage the alignments. PWI seems to address this problem. The catch is that you need to use the newer hand controller ($100??) that has the usb connection at the base, not the older HC that has the 232? plug. Additionally, there is a different HC for the alt/az mounts (the SE, EVO?). They can't be used interchangeably, like the older HCs. I tried.