•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Smartphone as a binoculars e-finder

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 fromEarth

fromEarth

Vostok 1

• topic starter

Posted 30 April 2019 - 08:36 AM

Hi, 

I am a binoculars newbie and really enjoying my Nikon Action Ex 8x40.

Since I have been quite spoiled by my push-to dobsonian (SkySafari + Nexus II + Skywatcher 12'') system, I decided to use my android smartphone as an e-finder for my binoculars (I am going to use SkEye app for the push-to function).  I think it will be very helpful for my kid to learn sky maps.

I found this video at Youtube:

https://www.youtube....h?v=i7VKW2s812c

I ordered a simple L-shaped tripod adapter and a cheap ball head last night. Is there anyone who uses this setup? Any photos and links? 

fromEarth 

Edited by fromEarth, 30 April 2019 - 05:28 PM.

• Jeff Struve and alstarjoey like this

#2 fromEarth

fromEarth

Vostok 1

• topic starter

Posted 01 May 2019 - 10:34 AM

Where can I get this simple smartphone adapter? Any idea? 

https://www.amazon.c...ASIN=B00PNPKN90

fromEarth

#3 range88

range88

Apollo

• -----
  • Vendors
  • Loc: Shanghai

Posted 01 May 2019 - 06:58 PM

I once used it for my 100ed bino. I no longer use it. And I think it's useless for low power binoculars, they are already finder class.

Edited by range88, 01 May 2019 - 06:58 PM.

• Sarkikos likes this

#4 RussL

RussL

Music Maker

• Loc: Cayce and Lancaster, SC

Posted 01 May 2019 - 09:59 PM

I think I know what you are trying to do. With an app your smart phone can perhaps show you things that are in the sky better than you can see them naked eye. Wirh it set up, you can then look through your binoculars at an object or piece of sky. Is that correct?