•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

RASA 11" vs RASA 8" for EAA

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 chef

chef

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Czech republic

Posted 06 May 2019 - 08:06 AM

Hello Everyone,
Can someone please advise, whether RASA 11" will give much better results in EAA over RASA 8" ?

I am complete beginner in AP/EAA and I just bought camera ASI294MC Pro for EAA.

For visual observing is aperture one of the most important parameter to be able to see more DSO objects, but I dont know, if for EAA is aperture also the most important parameter (especially, when RASA 11" cost twice times more, than RASA 8").

Thx

#2 Rickster

Rickster

Viking 1

• Loc: NC Kansas Bortle 3 SQM 21.8+

Posted 06 May 2019 - 10:41 AM

The 11 inch will gather 90% more photons than the 8 inch.  And photons are signal (information).  So, yes, the 11 inch will give better performance.  The 11 inch, at f2.2 would also be a better match (in terms of arc sec/px) for the 294 than the 8 inch.  If the added cost, weight, mount requirements and storage space are not a problem, then I would think that you would be a lot happier with the 11 inch.

• OleCuss likes this

#3 chef

chef

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Czech republic

Posted 06 May 2019 - 11:49 AM

Thanks a lot for advice.

So I will focus on RASA 11" .

#4 Ubuntu

Ubuntu

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 09 May 2019 - 09:23 AM

Hello Everyone,
Can someone please advise, whether RASA 11" will give much better results in EAA over RASA 8" ?

I am complete beginner in AP/EAA and I just bought camera ASI294MC Pro for EAA.

For visual observing is aperture one of the most important parameter to be able to see more DSO objects, but I dont know, if for EAA is aperture also the most important parameter (especially, when RASA 11" cost twice times more, than RASA 8").