•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginner telescopes for night vision astronomy

• Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 mwaller

mwaller

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Kirkland, WA

Posted 06 May 2019 - 05:12 PM

Hello!

I've been fascinated with night vision equipment for a long time, and recently purchased a PVS-14 with filmless white phosphor tube.  I would like to give night vision astronomy a try, but I have no idea where to start.  I do not own a telescope, and I have very little first-hand experience using one.

I'd like something that will work well for real-time viewing with my PVS-14, and is relatively compact and easy to store.  What would give me the best experience for under $1k?  Used is fine.

I live in a "red" zone for light pollution, so I expect that filters will be necessary.  I don't mind spending a bit more on filters and eyepieces, provided these accessories are transferable to better quality scope if I decide to upgrade.    

Thanks for your input!      

#2 Vondragonnoggin

Vondragonnoggin

Cosmos

• Loc: Southern CA, USA

Posted 06 May 2019 - 08:29 PM

There is a lot of information in the “Best of NV” sticky thread at the top of the forum.

I would start there and see if reading through some of the frequently asked question threads linked can help you decide if you want a refractor or reflector or catadioptric design telescope and whether you want tracking with it for pictures or just manual operation and visual only.

Think about activities you want to do - some picture capability with your pvs-14 or just visual use. The mount will make a difference.

With a pvs-14, you will be using it afocally connected by some type of adapter to a regular telescope eyepiece. There is information on how that works in the sticky thread.