•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Cherry Springs State Park

beginner ATM observing
  • Please log in to reply
67 replies to this topic

#1 Prasad

Prasad

Ranger 4

• topic starter
  • Loc: Eastern PA

Posted 10 May 2019 - 04:28 PM

I have decided to go to Cherry Springs State Park this year and camp there on my own. (I am not able to make it for CSSP or BFSP because of other commitments). I am new to Cherry Springs State Park and I have so many questions. The dates I was able to reserve are June 25 to 28 (3 nights) because it was fully booked starting June 28.

1. Where do I get to buy food? (How far, etc.)

2. The camping spot is called Airport A and B but not marked by that name in any map. I hope it will be Rustic Campground. 

3. Is that camp site manned by PA State Park people 24/7 or is it only during the day? 

4. How safe is the camp site (wild life is my concern)? 

5. I am able to see camp site reservations are filled in fast. Nice. 

6. How are the cellular signals at observing site? (T-Mobile)

Any advice to a first timer to Cherry Springs State Park is most welcome. I am mostly an observational person but I will attempt some beginner style imaging. 

Thank you

Edited by Prasad, 10 May 2019 - 04:29 PM.

#2 Cali

Cali

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Bay Area

Posted 10 May 2019 - 04:40 PM

Link for those unfamiliar with the park.

- Cal

Edited by Cali, 10 May 2019 - 05:01 PM.

#3 Mike W

Mike W

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Upstate NY

Posted 10 May 2019 - 05:11 PM

I go to Stellafane every year but wanted to try Cherry Springs this year but when I went to register all filled up? When does registration start?

#4 IMB

IMB

APM Telescopes Vendor Affiliate

• -----
  • Vendor Affiliate

Posted 10 May 2019 - 05:15 PM

<

<...>  6. How are the cellular signals at observing site? (T-Mobile) <...>

Unfortunately, very bad.

#5 Astrolite

Astrolite