•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

First Time Imaging Moon

moon
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 jrbuchanan

jrbuchanan

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 15 May 2019 - 06:05 PM

Here is an image that I took on Monday with C-6se and ZWO ASI 224 camera.  Image made by capturing  3000 frames in Firecapture, then processing in PIPP to reduced down the 1200 best and steady the image.  Then ran through Autostackert and Registax. Finished off with a little sharpening and shake reduction in Photoshop. Image captures the Montes Appenine, Mere of Serenity and Tranquility- used a 6.3 focal reducer on this image. 

I am new to this and not sure really how good of an image this is because everything looks great to me at this point.  Would love to get some feedback on ways to improve and things that I might be over or underdoing in processing the image.  Honestly, I think I fell in love with lunar imaging the other night.  Incredible fun. 

Attached Thumbnails

• 2019-05-14-0148_2-B-Moon_pipp_g5_ap373.png

• Wouter D'hoye, zjc26138, jeremiah2229 and 1 other like this

#2 RunningMan

RunningMan

Messenger

Posted 15 May 2019 - 06:31 PM

Nice shot!

#3 Tom Glenn

Tom Glenn

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 15 May 2019 - 06:36 PM