•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

EQ Mount Daytime Alignment?

beginner eq equipment Meade moon mount observing
  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Splodger

Splodger

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Portland, OR

Posted 16 May 2019 - 05:51 PM

Hi,

I’m pretty new to observing and my primary interests are the moon and planets. I have a new setup arriving shortly - Meade LX85 150mm f/12 Maksutov-Cassegrain GoTo EQ. I’ve never used an EQ Mount before, and even though I’ve done my homework, the one thing (so far anyway) that is vexing me is daytime alignment.

As you know one of the great things about observing the moon is that it can often be done in the daytime. I was keen then to find out how to align the scope so that it will remain locked onto and follow the moon. Having thoroughly read the manual (and done a thorough search) I found no reference to aligning to the moon, which I was able to do with my previous, simpler Alt Az Mount.

I emailed Mead and was told stars are needed for an alignment.

Please know that I’m certainly not complaining about Meade or their Customer Service in any way shape or form.

That said, even though it’s not going to be any great hardship to track her with the handset before the stars come out, I would be pleased to know if there were a way to do it.

Thanks.

#2 homerdt

homerdt

Mariner 2

• Loc: Astoria, Oregon

Posted 16 May 2019 - 06:58 PM

At least they got back to you. I myself have not heard of a way to align during the day.

• Splodger likes this

#3 jdupton

jdupton

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Central Texas, USA

Posted 16 May 2019 - 07:16 PM

Splodger,