•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Stack together or separately is the question

astrophotography beginner
  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 MSJK1171

MSJK1171

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Gettysburg, PA

Posted 17 May 2019 - 10:52 PM

Hi everyone, I’m still new to Astrophotography and was wondering. If you take sub frames of the same deep sky object in different iso’s should you stack all of the different exposures together as one stack or should you stack each iso sets separately and then blend them together in post processing? I’m still fuzzy about this one for deep sky stacker. Thanks in advance for any help.

Edited by MSJK1171, 17 May 2019 - 10:53 PM.

#2 james7ca

james7ca

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 17 May 2019 - 11:31 PM

It would depend somewhat on the difference in the exposures. If you're talking about a 2X or greater difference then I'd stack them separately. However, if they are pretty close in exposure (say 1 minute versus 50 seconds) then you may want to stack them all together. You might also want to stack each separately and then combine them with a scale value to match each total integration time. So, if you had one hour total with one sequence and only 30 minutes on the other you could combine then in a ratio of two to one (two parts for the one hour sequence and one part for the 30 minute sequence).

Blends like the above are easy to do with PixInsight using that software's PixelMath. Also, many (most?) integration or stacking routines scale each sub based upon some form of weighting, which can be something like signal to noise or even exposure time. Thus, knowing how the integration combines the subs will help in determining whether you can stack the sequences all together or separately.