•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Guiding Problem in Dec-Axis with EQ-5 SynScan

astrophotography beginner mount
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 mwr

mwr

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Germany

Posted 19 May 2019 - 11:59 AM

According to the guiding graph (see PHD2 log viewer graph below) I have a severe problem which can be assigned to declination backlash and static friction. I have already tried to adjust the gear in order to minimize backlash (obviously with limited success). Is there anything else I could try to overcome the static friction problem? 

declination backlash and static friction; EQ-5 SynScan

#2 oshimitsu

oshimitsu

Viking 1

• Loc: Batavia

Posted 19 May 2019 - 01:12 PM

I'm no expert but it looks like it's binding which is not something you want to leave uncorrected. Make sure your check the gear mesh throughout the entire worm gear cycle as there will be high and low spots. You want to set the mesh to where it has a tiny bit of breathing room at it's highest point. Hopefully someone with a little more knowledge will chime in

• mwr likes this

#3 sg6

sg6

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Norfolk, UK.

Posted 19 May 2019 - 02:50 PM

This is getting weird. Yesterday I caught sight of hyper tuning an EQ5, I have an EQ5 and wasn't sure what could be done. It was on the Darkstar site who belt drive EQ6's etc. No belt drive for an EQ5 seems not possible.

Right to maybe relevant bits.

The Dec worm drive is held by 2 O rings APPARENTLY. Now O-rings to me mean rubber, but dimensions seem odd for rubber O-rings. I suppose there is a chance that this has changed since the initial question was asked think I read 2010, basiclly the O rings are poor and die.

Darkstar do a tune which is basically all the change assorted EQ5 bearings and fit alternative somethings. Including to the Dec worm.