•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Unguided exposures with an EQ6-R

• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 Bokchoy Ninja

Bokchoy Ninja

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 May 2019 - 05:35 PM

Hello,

I'm just starting out with an EQ6-R and an ES 80mm Triplet (480mm focal length). After polar-aligning my mount, I'm only getting 30 second exposures before I see significant streaking (of M101, which is quite close to Polaris).

Granted, my polar alignment is a bit rough since I'm rotating my RA axis until I think the polarscope reticle is in a plus-sign orientation (with the counterweight straight down the reticle has a rotation offset). This introduces a small error that might affect the tracking.

I know that an option is to use the syscan polar alignment procedure, but this requires multistar alignment which needs stars near the horizon (and I'm on the patio where my FOV is limited).

How long of unguided exposures can I expect with this mount/scope when I have perfect polar alignment? 30 seconds seems really short.

Edited by Bokchoy Ninja, 21 May 2019 - 05:36 PM.

#2 David_Ritter

David_Ritter

Viking 1

• Loc: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Posted 21 May 2019 - 05:43 PM

If you cannot get good polar alignment, then 30 seconds or so is probably the best unguided performance that you can realistically expect.

Under similar conditions (but with a less capable mount) I was never able to get good exposures longer than about 20 seconds.

Unguided imaging requires nearly perfect polar alignment. Any alignment errors, however small, will cause the mount to drift. The larger the error, the faster it will drift.

• Gary Z likes this

#3 Bokchoy Ninja

Bokchoy Ninja

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 May 2019 - 05:47 PM