•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

SLT 4k to NexStar 40k question

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 gdjsky01

gdjsky01

Ranger 4

• topic starter
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 21 May 2019 - 09:31 PM

I am new to recent SLT/NexStar mounts. (I have an original - non-upgradable N5 (for sale as well:p ))

I have an almost brand new SLT mount on the way. No scope. Just the mount and tripod

I was wondering:

A) Can just upgrade the firmware to have the 40,000 object DB instead of the 4,000 (or did they skimp on memory for the SLT versions)?

B) If not, can I use any recent 40k NexStar+ hand controller with the SLT mount? Even if it came off a Celestron GEM or other mount with the 40K db? Is there a setting to tell the controller, hey this is an SLT! 

Thanks for your wisdom in advance!

Clear skies

Jeff

#2 Michael_Swanson

Michael_Swanson

Vanguard

Posted 21 May 2019 - 10:10 PM

I am new to recent SLT/NexStar mounts. (I have an original - non-upgradable N5 (for sale as well:p ))

I have an almost brand new SLT mount on the way. No scope. Just the mount and tripod

I was wondering:

A) Can just upgrade the firmware to have the 40,000 object DB instead of the 4,000 (or did they skimp on memory for the SLT versions)?

B) If not, can I use any recent 40k NexStar+ hand controller with the SLT mount? Even if it came off a Celestron GEM or other mount with the 40K db? Is there a setting to tell the controller, hey this is an SLT! 

Thanks for your wisdom in advance!

Clear skies

Jeff

Hi Jeff,