•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Equatorial mystery

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 RyanD

RyanD

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 May 2019 - 12:14 PM

I bought a used celestron c8 with equatorial mount and it has the gears on the ra,dec and an astro master box run off a 9v with 2 motors that have gears on them but thats about it. The rest was liquid nails and wood. Is there a part or parts I could purchase to make this work properly?

#2 RyanD

RyanD

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 May 2019 - 12:17 PM

Id post a pic but I have no idea how to do that. I'm not very tech savvy. So please explain as though you would to a small child.

#3 Taosmath

Taosmath

Viking 1

Posted 22 May 2019 - 01:23 PM

Take a picture with your cell phone or camera.  Load it onto your computer and make sure the picture is less than 500kb in size.  If your file is smaller than 500KB, then jump down to the  paragraph below starting with "Now go back to cloudy nights...."

If it's larger than 500Kb open it in Preview (if you use a Mac - don't know how to do it on a Windows system) and under "Tools" on the menu bar click "adjust size.". Click the buttons that say "scale proportionally" & "resample image".  Above these buttons there are two numbers "width" and "height". Look at the number in "width and divide it by 2. Type that number into the width box. At the bottom is a box that says "resulting size".  If this number is 400KB or less, you're done. If it's 1MB or more, enter a new width which is half the last number you entered.  If the number is less than 1MB, type in a number for width which is 2/3 of the current number.  Keep doing this until the number in resulting size is 400KB or less, then save the file as a jpeg file (the file name will be something.jpg.  It's the .jpg bit you are looking for)