•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

PHD2 and NexRemote both want to use COM4.

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 iflyrctoday

iflyrctoday

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: East Tennessee

Posted 22 May 2019 - 05:08 PM

I am not very good with computers and when I start thinking about Com Ports my head starts to hurt.  It all works by magic!

I am using a Celestron CGEM mount and PHD2 for tracking.  I would like to use the Celestron application "NexRemote" That would put a virtual hand controller on my computer screen.

PHD2 is connecting to the CGEM mount using "Celestron Telescope Driver (ASCOM)" using COM4 (the only option offered).  "NexRemote" uses PC port COM4. (The Only option offered).  I have a serial interface connecting a USB port to the bottom of the Hand Controller.  The Hand Controller is Connected to the Hand Controller port in the CGEM Mount.

Only one of the applications will talk to the mount at any  time.  If PHD2 is connected than NexRemote is refused access to COM4.  If NexRemote is connected than PHD2 is refused access to Com4.  To switch, PHD2 must be closed and then restarted; restarting the calibration process again.  (Not Good!)

Has anyone out there experienced this or know of a solution?

I can put very long connectors and move the hand controller between the computer and the mount (about 15 feet) but it would be much better if I could leave the hand Controller at the Mount and have the virtual Hand controller on the computer screen.

Thanks for any help 

Karl

#2 rgsalinger

rgsalinger

Fly Me to the Moon

• Moderators
  • Loc: Carlsbad Ca

Posted 22 May 2019 - 05:22 PM

Well, if these are both ASCOM, then connect them both to POTH (plain old telescope hub) and POTH to the hub. My memory must be bad as I thought you connected PHD to Nexremote but POTH should do the trick.