•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

polar alignment scope, orion sirius pro

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 supertrucker

supertrucker

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: weatherford texas

Posted 23 May 2019 - 05:01 PM

hello, i'm new to hobby and have been working my way through the learning curve and it's starting to make sense. and with spring in season it's either cloudy or just really high humidity so i have not had a chance to set up in my yard and test it out. but it gives me more time to learn the equipment. i started working my through polar alignment scope manual. i attached it and calibrated it no problem. with mount level , alignment scope level and R.A circle set on 0 i rotated 180 degree and now its back to the manual to find out why i'm not aligned from 0 to 180 do i need to shift back and forth making fine adjustments like when i calibrated the scope i used a object about 200yrds away to calibrate and align, do i need a more distant object because the manual does not specify. 

#2 t-ara-fan

t-ara-fan

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: 50° 13' N

Posted 23 May 2019 - 06:25 PM

Do you have an autoguider?  If so, you can do PA with it using SharpCap Pro. Fast, easy, cheap, and very accurate.

My Sirius came with the polar scope, it was a neck breaking PITA.  So I got a PoleMaster when they came out.  But the SharpCap method (if you have a guider) is way better than the PoleMaster.

In fact, I have done SharpCap PA with my ED80T CF 80mm f/6 refractor and my ASI071MC Pro camera. 

#3 supertrucker

supertrucker

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 23 May 2019 - 06:39 PM

No i don't have a autoguider i just got the mount and a 150mm mak and learning how to use it. a autoguider sounds technical what all is needed for that setup?

#4 supertrucker

supertrucker

Explorer 1

• -----